Haruhi Suzumiya 07: The Intrigues of Haruhi Suzumiya

November 3, 2012

Nagaru Tanigawa – Yen Press – 2012 – 11+ volumes

I waited a bit to read this, since I knew it would be awhile before the next one. Happily, now I only have… well, two more days until The Indignation of Haruhi Suzumiya comes out. Can’t wait! I read this one in about a day.

Back to the novel format, this one again features time travel shenanigans courtesy of Kyon and Mikuru. Haruhi is acting slightly distracted again as the beginning of February arrives, and suddenly Mikuru from eight days in the future appears and tells Kyon that future Kyon has a task for himself, but she doesn’t know what it is. Kyon’s only hint as to what to do appears in the form of notes from adult Mikuru from the future, and he dutifully follows their instructions as the SOS brigade goes about its usual activities.

The… timing of everything here left no secret what this was all leading up to from the beginning. I knew what Haruhi’s strange behavior and the secretive nature of the girls was all leading up to. Less clear are the weird things that Kyon does. Some of them are butterfly effect-type things, like an encounter with a young boy who will some day have an influence on time travel technology. One of the things is an activity that may or may not stop Haruhi from finding secret treasure via a map from Tsuruya.

Other fun involves keeping Mikuru hidden from present-Mikuru and the SOS Brigade via a “clever” lie to Tsuruya, who totally doesn’t suspect a thing. Not at all. There’s also an unexpected action scene when future-Mikuru is kidnapped by rival time travelers, something that is a bit out-of-character for this series.

Surprisingly, in the end, it seems as if the actions taken during this week of running around with a time traveler are minimal, and Kyon himself comments that the future branches and runs freely, and begins to grow uneasy with the fact he is altering the future in favor of what a mysterious agency wants.

Still, it’s a lot of fun, and again, I get a kick out of the narrative tricks these books always play. I’m a huge fan of these novels, and I hope to see them continue in Japan sometime soon. After Indignation, the next three novels are a 3-part storyline, and the last one came out in Japan summer 2011. We’ll be almost caught up by the end of next year if no more come out. Here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: